Town of Amherst Economic Development Authority

Chairperson Sharon W. Turner called a meeting of the Town of Amherst Economic Development Authority, formerly Industrial Development Authority, to order on September 6, 2022, at 5:15 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as follows:

P	Sharon Turner	P	Jacob Bailey
P	C. Manly Rucker	P	Richard Wydner
P	Clifford Hart	P	Douglas Thompson
P	Mark Milhous		

Town Manager Sara E. McGuffin, in her capacity of secretary, and Clerk of Council Vicki K. Hunt were also present.

Chairperson Turner welcomed and introduced new members Mark Milhous and Douglas Thompson.

Mr. Rucker made a motion which was seconded by Mr. Wydner to approve the minutes of the July 5, 2022, meeting of the Industrial Development Authority.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 7-0 as follows:

Sharon Turner	Aye	Jacob Bailey	Aye
C. Manly Rucker	Aye	Douglas Thompson	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	Richard Wydner	Aye
Mark Milhous	Aye		

Town Manager McGuffin gave an update on the project proposal previously presented by John Vandervelde that would provide new town residents who sign up for water service with community information on individual town businesses and organizations in the form of cards designed by Town of Amherst staff containing images and text provided by participating organizations and businesses and placed in wooden card holders manufactured by Ascension Church volunteers.

After discussion, the Authority directed Town Manager McGuffin to prepare a memo to email to Town businesses making them aware of the project and an opportunity to submit their business information to be included in the welcome holder.

Chairperson Turner began a discussion on the Town's present water capacity and whether there might be a future threat in depletion in the volume of water available due to droughts, during which discussion determination was made that measures have been put in place should there be any future threat to the Town's water supply.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:35 p.m. on motion of Mr. Bailey, seconded by Mr. Rucker.

The motion carried 7-0 as follows:

Sharon Turner	Aye	Jacob Bailey	Aye
C. Manly Rucker	Aye	Douglas Thompson	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	Richard Wydner	Aye
Mark Milhous	Aye		

	Sharon W. Turner, Chairperson
ATTEST:	
Secretary	